Making Progress

I should have written this last week but its been hectic around here! Last Monday was the 1st bloodwork day for the progesterone and as I said before J started her period earlier than expected so everything else got moved up a little. The 2nd round of bloodwork was last Thursday where they tested for all kinds of STD’s, Cystic Fibrosis, more hormones, and did the 2 hour glucose test. Boy was that fun! We sat at Quest for the glucose test after she had 8 (count ‘em EIGHT!) vials of blood taken just for the other stuff. Then she had to chug the orange sugar sludge and try not to throw up. You could see it on her face that she was not a fan, nor was her body. I felt so bad for her, I know she was especially worried since being on the lower carb diet and she was concerned it would throw her off. She went back for her 9th vial of blood at the one hour after chugging the sugar sludge, then again for the 10th vial at the 2 hour mark, then we were free to go! It made her SICK. She was ill for the rest of the day, so I’m glad we had off.

So here we are nearly a week later and tomorrow is the 3rd and final test…no bloodwork this time at least (her veins need a break thank goodness). Tomorrow is the HSG and she is nervous. I don’t blame her, it is supposed to be fairly painful during and afterwards. I know she will be okay, but I hate seeing her so worried. Plus the nurse who gave her the pre-procedure instructions said that she wasn’t sure if I could go in with her, not because we’re gay or anything like that but because there are a lot of people in this tiny room and there just may not be enough space for me to come too. I know J is really worried and bummed out about that, but I told her that we would just have to see once we got there and if I could I would definitely be in there holding her hand.

Incidentally tomorrow is our 4th anniversary…I can’t believe it has been that long already. We always joke and say “do you still love me after all these years?” Of course, the answer is always “yes!” I know people think that romance dies or tapers off, but I still get excited when she calls me on the phone or when I see her after work. I still get excited for our anniversary each year and even excited just to sleep and snuggle together each night. I think we have a great relationship and it is only getting better year after year. I love her with everything I am and could never have asked for a better partner or friend in this life. I can’t wait to get married in April, and I’m so excited to start working towards starting our family. With this being the final round of fertility testing I feel like we will finally have some answers and be making good progress towards starting our family.

And in other news, we bought the baby swing/bouncer combo on sale at Target for 50% off! We just couldn’t pass up that good of a deal, and you may think its hokey, but we see it as a focusing object for what we want to come to fruition. So there it sits in its box, waiting for the day when we take down our home gym and start setting up the baby’s room. I can’t wait for the day we get that + sign, and I just have a feeling it will be soon. I feel like we are much more prepared emotionally and financially this time, and especially going to the doctor will just increase our odds that much more. I feel like we are doing it right this time, having a set date for our wedding and trying to go in the “right order”. That’s important to us, being lesbians doesn’t mean we don’t have traditional values after all.

Anywho, I suppose I should bring this to a close. Wish us luck tomorrow and I will keep you posted once we have the follow up appointment to find out all of the results…sometime later in February!

Until then…

-B

Talk To Me!

