Keeping Up With The Joneses

Hello everyone! Today it is finally officially official….I am now Bethany Jones! I began leaving my old name behind a couple weeks ago when I got my new Social Security card and today I finally got down to the DMV to update my ID and car registration. After an hour long wait due to a power outage and general system issues at the DMV (its always something, right?) I left with my new ID and name in hand. Tonight I changed my name on all my accounts and the last things to update are our banking and my workplace. It feels so good to finally have this all done and not be stuck in limbo between the two names. πŸ™‚

In total, it only cost me about $60 for everything, which is great because some people in our grand anti-gay state of Florida have had to do legal name changes through a court order which can cost a boat-load of dinero, or go a roundabout way and get a Passport name change first and then go to the DMV for a new ID. I decided to take my chances and hope to be treated like any other American and did my name change the old-fashioned way – I took my marriage certificate and updated Social Security card to the DMV and asked for them to change it…and they did! It may not sound like a big deal, but for me, it was a tiny personal lesbian victory! I have to say it was a lot less stressful than I thought it would be and for once I didn’t feel singled out, discriminated against, or “gay”; I felt like Bethany, a happily married woman who gets the same treatment as anyone else in this country, just like any of us deserve to be treated.

Life is good. πŸ™‚

Now we just need to get our wills, powers of attorney, health care directives, and all that other legal stuff taken care of so our family is solid in the eyes of the law in preparation for Baby Jones’ arrival in February. Although my name change was a small personal victory, our state is (sadly) a long way away from equal rights and recognition for gay and lesbian families, hence the need for all of the legal paperwork to make our family “official” too. It sucks to have to validate our family this way, but alas, we have to do what we have to do until Florida catches up with the rest of civilized world.

Speaking of name changes, I’ve changed the title of the blog. While we are still lesbians making babies (YAY!), we are also now a united front, the Joneses. I thought it was fitting. One of our idols, Suze Orman, says that women often don’t realize the power of their own name. So having that in mind, this blog has a new name, and I hope you continue reading along and Keeping Up With The Joneses. πŸ™‚

Ultrasound Thursday…we can’t wait!!

Talk To Me!

