10 Weeks

I can’t believe we are already 10 weeks – that means we are 25% of the way through this pregnancy. Unreal! Some days it feels like the time is just flying by and at other times, it feels like we still have so much longer until we get to meet our little one. Just the other day I was reading What To Expect When You’re Expecting and it suddenly dawned on me that we are in the 3rd month. Maybe its the sickness or maybe I’m just a little bit slow (sometimes!) but I just hadn’t really thought about us being this far along already. It is so exciting to be on this journey but sometimes I wish it would speed up just a little! It is always tough in the weeks leading up to the next doctor’s appointment, so I’m impatient for that. I know that after next Saturday it will start hurrying up again for a few days before our appointment with Dr. Connors on the 24th. I hope we get another ultrasound at this appointment coming up. They said that we probably would since its our first visit with our regular OB. Honestly, as long as we get to hear the heartbeat and its perfect, I will be just fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

Our next big milestone is finding out the gender of our little kumquat…we probably won’t know until September-ish by what I’m reading…maybe we will find out sooner in August and it can be my birthday present! I still think we are having a boy, and I think I’m starting to sway J to think the same. Her mom keeps calling it a her on purpose, trying to will it to be a girl! LOL Guess we will have to just wait and see, but in the meantime, it is a fun game to wonder about the little person in there.

And in other news this week, I came down with the horrible, terrible, no-good, cruddy sickness J had and was running at 101 degrees for a whole night – that was fun NOT. But I got in to see my doctor right away and she gave me a Z-Pack which is slowly doing me some good. I still have such a horrible cough and OH – no voice…which is super fun. J is still coughing real bad and since she had to be on such low doses of antibiotics she’s still feeling terrible too. We are a mess…but at least we are getting it out of the way early on so the rest of the pregnancy can be a (hopefully) sickness-free ride. ๐Ÿ™‚

Our little kumquat is a little over an inch long and weighs a quarter of an ounce. Baby’s length will nearly double during the next three weeks! Baby is also getting the first tastes of what J is eating and drinking as the baby is now beginning to drink the amniotic fluid. Baby’s arms and legs can now bend at the joints and is beginning to kick around in there! The webbing is completely gone from baby’s fingers and toes and tiny fingernails are beginning to grow as well. The umbilical cord is formed and providing nutrients to baby as the yolk sac disappears and the liver is now producing red blood cells.

Our little one is growing so fast!! We can’t wait for the next ultrasound so we can see him/her again.

Talk To Me!

