11 Weeks

Our baby is the size of a lime this week, about an inch and a half long already! Baby’s bones are beginning to harden this week and tiny teeth are getting into place under the gumline already. While you can’t quite feel it yet, baby is doing water ballet inside the womb and may even be having his/her first hiccups! Baby’s skin is still transparent and thin but will start to thicken once baby puts on more weight in the coming weeks.

Our little baby is almost fully developed now!

J really doesn’t like limes. It reminds her of a bad night in college involving waaaaay too much tequila and the resulting aftermath. That’s okay though, because the little limey guy (or girl) in there hasn’t cost her her cookies yet.

Thankfully, J has had a pretty easy pregnancy so far aside from coming down with whatever sickness we had the last two weeks. We are both finally feeling back to normal; well as normal as J can feel with the little one growing inside of her! She keeps having weird dreams about … um … having man parts which of course make her extremely distressed first thing in the morning. Apparently in her dream the other night she asked me if I would still love her if that happened. When she woke up and told me, I assured her that the chances of it happening were slim to none so I didn’t think we had to worry about it. And of course I laughed at her…a lot. Love you baby! 🙂

Of course, everyone is saying that maybe the weird dreams are being contributed by our little man in there…if he is indeed a HE. I hope so! At least then it would justify the weird dreaming so J would feel better about herself. Alas, it is too soon to tell and apparently lots of pregnant women have odd dreams as a result of all the hormone fluctuations going on in their bodies. Some of them have even dreamed about giving birth to kittens! LOL I guess when my time comes we’ll have to keep tabs on the odd dreams I have and compare.

Regardless, nothing much has happened the week other than recovering from the sickness of doom, weird dreams on J’s part (oh and I had a nightmare about ghost hunting with someone from high school, the result of eating Oreos right before bed I’m sure!), and a growing baby. We have our next appointment on Tuesday and it just can’t come soon enough! We are excited to know if we get to see our little one again or not, but I know that whether or not we get an ultrasound we get to hear the heartbeat at every appointment. We tried to use our stethoscope the other day to hear it but all I could hear was J’s stomach grumbling and digesting. LOL She says she can feel it moving sometimes, like a fluttering, and I can’t wait until I can feel it too.

And of course, we are getting impatient at finding out the gender! We tend to call the baby a “he” because that’s what we want (and what I think it is) and people say we are going to damage it if it ends up being a girl. I highly doubt that. Rest assured, we will call it the appropriate gender once we know for certain! Speaking of gender, the testosterone or estrogen wash will be happening soon. Usually it happens between 12-14 weeks and this is when the baby’s brain gets washed in the dominating hormone which speeds development pertinent to that gender. Of course at this upcoming doctor’s appointment it is most likely going to be too soon to tell, so I guess we will just have to wait and see, and as you all know patience is not our strong suit. 🙂

So that is all for now. I will make sure to post once the doctor’s visit is over Tuesday. I can’t believe the 1st trimester is coming to a close – only 2 more weeks to go!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hirsandhers
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 09:01:53

    hir view

    Congratulations to you both! This is such an exciting time for you. Just so you know, each of the stages of your little ones life are exciting & fun in their won ways. My son is three right now. If you have any questions, I might be able to answer some of them.

    Reply

Talk To Me!

