12 Weeks

Baby is just over two inches long this week and about the size of a plum. Baby even has reflexes already; if you poke your abdomen, baby will respond by moving away! The intestines are descending into baby’s abdomen from the umbilical cord and baby’s kidneys are excreting urine into the bladder now. The first trimester is drawing to a close and baby’s big job for the rest of the pregnancy is to keep gaining weight and growing and maturing.

We already think our little one is just plum adorable!

What an exciting week! We had our ultrasound on Tuesday morning and got to see our little one moving about in there, kicking and punching, with all fingers and toes intact. I just can’t get over being able to see our little baby in there, actually looking like a baby now instead of an alien! Things are getting exciting, that’s for sure. šŸ™‚

I went to Publix after work on Wednesday and while I was there, I decided to stop by the produce section. Every week I put up baby’s “fruit size” on here, but I just couldn’t believe that our baby was the size of a lime and becoming the size of a plum this week. So, I stopped by and was amazed!

Lime – 11 Weeks

Plum – 12 Weeks

Isn’t that crazy!! According to all of our baby apps, these three weeks were pretty intense on the growth front. Just to give you a better visual if you’re still not convinced that lime-to-plum was a big leap…

Told you so!

And J is really feeling it now. She’s finally gotten her appetite back and is (unhappily) beginning to wear maternity pants because she needs just a little extra room. She has a tilted uterus so the doctor has said that is probably why she is starting to “show” and be able to feel her uterus already. J wishes she had a visible baby bump, but I assured her that that would happen soon enough. Plus, she’s been doing really well and hasn’t really gained any weight so I know she’s happy about that! šŸ™‚

I can’t wait to find out the gender of the baby. We are really hoping that we can find out in our next ultrasound on August 10th, just in time for my birthday. That would be such an awesome gift! Dr. Connors says she usually checks between 16 and 20 weeks so I know we’ll be a little shy of that so it may not happen. I am keeping my fingers crossed and hoping for the best, although I know its still a little early.

Oh and like I said before, once we were pregnant I would tell you guys the names we have picked out. šŸ™‚ For a girl, we chose Madilyn Emma, which means tower of strength, ambitious. And for a boy, we chose Jaxson Bennett, which means God is gracious, little blessed one. I think we chose great names and although I’m sure they are not everyone’s cup of tea, at least we didn’t choose something crazy like Fuchsia or Pomegranate. šŸ˜‰

So – I guess I’m signing off for now. J and I are driving up to Daytona with my mom to pick up my sister from her friend’s house where she spent the week. It’ll be fun to have ourselves a girl’s day, and then tonight we are heading up to J’s mom’s to visit with them and one of J’s cousins (who is also my BFF!). šŸ™‚ It’s going to be a busy yet productive weekend, as usual!

Talk To Me!

