13 Weeks

Lucky Number 13…well for me at least! I can’t believe the first trimester is already coming to a close and we are zooming into the fourth month this week! Not to mention, we get to see our baby again this Friday and I can’t wait. We go in for our first trimester screening and might even get to find out what it is although its still a little early (hey, you can’t blame me for being hopeful!) J and I both just want to know if its Madilyn or Jaxson growing in there! 🙂

In Mommy news, J has been having issues breathing lately and her asthma and allergies have been acting up. She’s been having to sleep with two pillows and while she’s not hugely pregnant she’s still having some pressure in her abdomen which is giving her trouble. She doesn’t handle wearing tight clothes anyway and now that everything she owns is getting a little snug it is really frustrating for her. We bought two pairs of maternity jeans but one pair was way too long and the other pair just didn’t fit right in the legs. So we have to return those and try again. At least the work pants we got worked out well enough. I know she’s just upset to even have to be in maternity pants already but I think once we find the right fit it’ll be better. Regardless, I know its getting to be tight quarters in there, the baby is the size of a peach and her uterus is now as big as a melon! Baby’s definitely taking up a lot of real estate in there!

I have been passing the time planning my portion of the upcoming baby shower. I’m so excited! I know it is still a couple of months away but man time is flying and it gives me something tangible to obsess over. Last night, we were discussing cake options and decorations and I think we may have finally narrowed it down to something really cute. But who knows, it could change again in a month or two! I just can’t wait; I know it will be a blast and we are looking forward to getting all our girls together for a good time. 🙂

Last night as we were discussing baby shower stuff, J was STARVING so she decided to have a turkey sandwich. As she finished the sandwich, she yelled out. It startled me, so naturally I asked her WTF was her problem. LOL She laughed and said, “I think you will think I’m crazy, but I think I just felt the baby move. Like, really MOVE.” The look on her face was one of utter disbelief, and it didn’t happen again. I can’t begin to judge or imagine what the peach-sized being inside of her is or isn’t doing in there, but that’s a pretty good-sized baby so it could be true! She said it felt like when someone flicks you with their finger. She thinks because she was kind of scrunched up on the couch that maybe it was just a fluke that she could feel it, but she was definitely put off guard. Apparently the baby was happy to have a turkey sandwich! And speaking of food the baby likes, it is most definitely my child, regardless of my DNA not being involved. Not only does J get sick whenever she eats beef products (a trait that I unfortunately have, despite my love of a good steak!), but now she has begun craving tomatoes (my all-time favorite food ever!!). This kid is definitely taking after me. I wonder if it will look like me too? We did pick a donor with similar features after all. 😉

Baby is the size of a peach this week,  is about 3 inches long and weighs just over an ounce! This is the final week of the 1st trimester and baby’s body is finally starting to catch up with the size of its head, which is now only one-third of baby’s whole length. Vocal cords are already forming and baby now has fingerprints on those tiny fingers!

We’re one-third of the way through – about 6 months until we get to meet our wee one!

Talk To Me!

