17 Weeks

Baby’s just grown a little bit this week but a big growth spurt is definitely coming. He/She’s about the size of a large onion this week and definitely kicking J’s ass. She’s been emotional – I made her a sandwich with lunchmeat she didn’t like, and I had cut the crust off in the shape of a heart…she called me crying that her sandwich was gross and mangled. Then she felt really bad when I told her it was a heart and she told me she just wouldn’t eat that day…to which I replied “Walk next door and buy yourself a sandwich!” and she goes….”Oh.” LOL Pregnancy brain is definitely in full force too – she can’t remember ANYTHING which is highly unusual for her. She is always so organized and put together and lately…not so much. She’s been having major belly troubles…she had a steak last week (one of her favorites!) and it gave her problems for dayyyyys. She’s been having a lot of restless nights and trouble sleeping, especially having really bad nightmares. I feel so bad for her! 😦

She had her cardiologist appointment this past Wednesday which went really well. She really liked her doctor so that’s good. He sent her for an ultrasound of her heart yesterday just to make sure everything was good although he really didn’t think anything was going on. I’m sure she’ll get the results next week sometime.

It is less than two weeks until the next ultrasound of our baby and I can’t wait! It seems so crazy….this whole pregnancy goes so fast at times and at other times it is like “Wow we have so much further to wait for our little one.” I keep getting panicked in one moment and then ecstatic the next. It is not that I am afraid of having a baby, not at all, it is just that it is such a HUGE change and I am anxious for it to hurry up and get here so I can adjust already. You can imagine how having a baby will be all you want, but in the end it is always an adventure taken without a detailed itinerary or road map. You can’t plan for everything and this is definitely one of those cases. 🙂 That’s okay though, because I couldn’t imagine being on this journey with anyone else!!

We were talking the other day about doing something nice for ourselves, like a little mini vacation within the state, just us, so we can just get away and have some alone time…I’m looking forward to that. 🙂 It says in the What To Expect When You’re Expecting book to take a baby-moon, so I guess we’re taking that advice. Our last vacation was in April to get married, so we are about due for something fun!

I’ve been working on the baby shower stuff…we’ve bought some napkins, cups, and some little goodies. We went to Party City and priced out the other stuff we want as well. We get to see Betti this weekend so I’m sure we’ll get to talk about it with her. 🙂 I have the invites ready to go out! I’m just waiting until after the ultrasound on the 14th to see how it goes (hopefully we find out if there’s a boy or a girl in there!). J thinks that this little one will keep us guessing for a while…it would be our luck. LOL

Baby’s weighing in at about 5 ounces this week and is about 5 inches long already – baby can fit in your palm! Bones are transforming from cartilage into bone and getting stronger every day. Sweat glands are beginning to develop now and baby’s finally starting to put some meat on those bones by starting to form fat this week. Also baby’s unique set of fingerprints are now in place at the tip of those little fingers.

We can’t wait to find out if there’s a little prince or princess in there!

Talk To Me!

