Window Color

No, no, no, I’m not talking about curtains. I’m talking about eye color! They say that the eyes are the window to the soul and on that note…A little known fact about myself is that I love genetics. It is just so fascinating how chromosomes and DNA and genetics all come together to make us who we are. I think its amazing. I even read the book about the discovery of the double-helix in the human DNA genome…when I was in middle school. Yeah, I’m a geek!

So how does my love of genetics fit into today’s post? Well, the answer is real simple. When you’re expecting a bun in the oven, whether its me or J carrying him, you can’t help but wonder: Whose nose does he have? Will he have wavy or straight hair? (J is banking on wavy) Will he be tall like our donor or short like J? Unfortunately, no ultrasound will give us these answers so we will just have to wait and see come February. But, in the meantime, I did find a nifty little tool online at Stanford University’s The Tech Museum which will tell us the chances of Jaxson having brown, blue, or green eyes. Very cool! At least, I think so. πŸ™‚

Here’s a little basic genetics tutorial for you – brown eyes are a dominant gene. That means that in any given case, if one parent has brown eyes, there’s a pretty good chance that the kids will have brown eyes too because it takes precedent. However, depending on the recessive genes involved (meaning, the less dominant genes), the kids could end up with a color other than brown. Such is our case – J has green eyes and our donor has brown eyes. J’s dad had green eyes and so did our donor’s dad, and he had one brother with green eyes. Based on this information, there’s a pretty good chance that our little Jax will have green eyes too.

I went to the website mentioned above and input all of J’s family’s information and our donor’s family’s information (gotta love those full disclosure donor profiles!) and here’s what that looks like:

And here’s our results based on this information:

As if my guess wasn’t good enough, here it is in plain English…well color at least. We have a 41.7% chance of having a green-eyed baby! That’s pretty good odds, I think. Now if I haven’t scared you off yet with my geekiness, go try it for yourself. πŸ™‚

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. birminghambell
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 00:03:36

    LOVE THIS POST TITLE!! And love the site you listed! Our little girl only had the 16% chance of blue eyes and she got them! I always thought it was odd that neither of us have true blue eyes and she got them! Hope J is feeling good!

    Reply

    • B
      Oct 04, 2012 @ 06:22:58

      That is so cool! I would love him to have blue eyes but I will be just fine with green (or brown of course) too!

      Reply

Talk To Me!

