Mama & Mommy

I stayed home sick from work on Monday and Jaxson and J and I were all sitting on the couch together, Jaxson nestled between the two of us, watching TV. J asked him who he was sitting with, and in his cute little boy voice he answered: Mama and Mommy, giving us each a love-pat on our knee as he said so.

J and I looked at each other with tears in our eyes, feeling ridiculous that we were crying over a single word but feeling our hearts swell with love and pride at our son. We’ve never used the word Mommy in our house before, but it looks like its here to stay.

You may recall we had originally started calling ourselves Llama (J) and Zombie (me) way back before Jax was even born. I had had a dream where a 2-3ish year old Jaxson was running through our house calling for me, saying Zombie! Zombie! (a butchered version of “Mama B”) and when I woke I told J and she thought it was hysterical and thus began calling me Zombie also. We came up with Llama for her (because why not if I’m Zombie?) because J loves llamas and it was equally as funny. Fast forward to the time for first words and Jax, like most babies, starts using the word Mama.

Since he started saying Mama that is what we’ve been called. We both answer to it and we always know which one of us he’s talking about/to based on his inflection of the word, and if I ask “Where’s Mama?” he’ll always point to J, and if she asks he will point to me.

Now, he’s learned the word Mommy and he does use it to refer to both of us. We’re not sure who will be which but I’m sure we’ll find out soon. I think it will be his name for me. He’ll call J Mommy sometimes but its not with the same oomph that’s present when he uses it to call to me. My heart melts! The same goes for Mama, he’ll use it interchangeably but its got more love behind it when used for her.

So here we are, at what I think is a pretty big milestone: Jaxson has not only learned a new word, but comprehends that while we both can be Mama or Mommy, him beginning to use one name for J and one name for me just affirms that he understands the concept of having two moms, one a Mama and one a Mommy. And it doesn’t sound like he’s got a problem with that one little bit. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Foster (@mentalparent)
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 17:19:11

    ❤ So cute. I had a friend in high school with 2 moms. They were the coolest family in the world lol Congrats 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lindsay
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 21:01:41

    This warms my heart so much! I love that he has a different way of addressing each of you, all his own doing. What a smart little boy!

    Reply

Talk To Me!

