Normalcy

TMI warning… 🙂

Ten years ago, I had just turned 18, and went to the gynecologist. I’d only had three periods since my first one at age 13, and no doctors would see me for this until I turned 18 or became sexually active. So once I turned 18, I made my appointment. I went through the uncomfortable ordeal on my own with no idea what to expect and when asked about my prior periods, I was embarrassed to say it had been years prior. I had an abdominal ultrasound (no cysts and everything looked fine), some bloodwork drawn (I think my FSH was a little low), which led to being diagnosed with PCOS and bluntly told that I’d probably never be able to have kids, so here take some birth control pills. I was devastated and thus began the vicious cycle of my adult life in which I’ve never had a period without being on progesterone followed by birth control, which always gave me severe migraine attacks within a month or two of use. As soon as I’d stop the birth control, my period would disappear until I started progesterone again.

Needless to say, I’ve gone through being on and off medication over the past 10 years, and seen two different gynecologists. My second doctor, which was also J’s doctor during her pregnancy with Jaxson, kept checking my bloodwork routinely to monitor and we tried so many different types and brands of birth control with no success in preventing the migraines. Also apart from the initial abdominal ultrasound back in 2004, I’d never had another to check out what was happening in there, nor really underwent any testing other than routine bloodwork since I wasn’t actively trying to get pregnant. Also, due to the PCOS I’ve struggled with my weight since I was a teenager. A couple years ago I’d lost weight and gotten down to 200-215 pounds which brought my period on – for two months straight. Needless to say I’d had enough after two months and went to the doctor to ask her to please make it stop. Enter birth control pills again and after a month or so, the severe migraine attacks began, and finally I said “forget it!” and ditched the birth control completely, around the time when J got pregnant with Jaxson. I figured I’d worry about it all later, when it was closer to my time to try to get pregnant, because I just didn’t want to suffer through birth control pills and all their fun side effects again, especially while trying to deal with a pregnant wife. 🙂

Finally last September after Jaxson was born and we’d had time to acclimate with life with a baby, J and I decided we’d start focusing on ourselves and getting healthy again and losing weight. In the year since, we’ve both lost about 50 pounds, and I actually had some spotting on my own in June 2014 which only lasted about a day. It was promising though and I was excited that maybe the weight loss was going to work and I was going to start functioning normally. July and August came and went without a period, until last night when I had some spotting. I woke up this morning discouraged that I hadn’t gotten a heavier flow and thought I’d just have a one day deal like I did back in June. Then at lunchtime I went to the bathroom and BAM there’s my period. I just had to lose weight and get healthy, and now I’m looking forward to my gynecologist appointment next week with my new doctor. I’m armed with some information to share with her, and I’m hoping that having a fresh pair of eyes look at my information will lead us to some answers. I’m super excited and optimistic that as I continue losing weight I will only become more regular and therefore more ready to get pregnant. Because for the first time in 10 years, I feel hopeful that I will be able to get pregnant because my body is finally doing what it’s supposed to have been doing this whole time. It’s empowering and satisfying, and I am so very happy, despite the cramps lol. It sounds silly, but after being told for years that you have no choice but to be on medication to be “normal” and that children may not be a possibility…well I’ve at least proven that I can function without being pumped full of hormones and that feels pretty damn good. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 22:04:21

    That is exciting! Congratulations on the weight loss, 50 lbs is amazing!

    Reply

  2. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 23:01:12

    Awesome! I have a similar reaction to BCP. I actually bleed heavily for like 2-3 weeks and get cramping so bad that i literally have to stay in bed for 3 days…its horrible! Im glad that things are looking up! I need to get it together with the weight loss stuff too if i plan on carrying in another year or so…so we’ll be on this journey together which will be awesome…

    Reply

  3. L
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 12:59:11

    B, I hadn’t read this post before and it made me so angry! I think you got crappy medical care for years and you deserved much better. There was no reason for you to be on artificial hormones with side effects for years and years just to get a fake “period” that did nothing for your emotional or physical health. I think the pill is a ridiculous treatment for PCOS and I’m glad you’re able to be off it now. I have PCOS too and doctors just don’t want to treat the whole person – they treat you as a series of unrelated symptoms. We have to learn on our own that the extra hormones stored in our bodies easily trigger an insulin response that make us respond differently to sugar and flour than other people’s bodies. Cutting out sugar and flour has brought my period back within a month every time I’ve done it. Good for you for all that you have done on your own to improve your health. I was also told (at 22) that I would be infertile. What a crock. I improved my diet, charted my cycle (using FertilityFriend — but check out the app “GLOW” for smartphones), and conceived on the first try. I did use Clomid because my crappy fertility doc wasn’t willing to try it without, but I doubt I even needed it.

    GOOD luck my dear! Also, some PCOSers get a lot of help from the herb Vitex — google “PCOS and Vitex” to get more info.

    -L

    Reply

    • B
      Sep 26, 2014 @ 13:36:54

      Thanks! I know it is an easily misunderstood condition, but my new doc was even shocked at what I’d been told and how I’d been treated! She was ready to send me home with some Clomid to get to baby-making that day! LOL If you don’t mind my asking did you try at home or do IUI with the doctor? J had PCOS and was on Clomid and the HCG trigger and got pregnant on her 2nd attempt at IUI, so I’m hoping I’ll have similar results!

      Reply

Talk To Me!

