Bloodwork Results Are In

I had bloodwork drawn at Monday’s doctor appointment to check my hormone levels and my thyroid function since I have a past history of thyroid issues, and finally got the results in today.

…drumroll please…

Everything is perfectly, wonderfully, normal! I had blood drawn on cycle day 8, smack in the middle of the follicular phase (prior to ovulation). Here are my results for those of you that like numbers (like me!):

1. FSH was 9.2, normal range is 1.98-11.6

2. LH was 10.3, normal range is 2.58-12.1

3. Estradiol was 44, normal range is 21-251

4. Prolactin was 9.9, normal range is 3.9-31.6

5. Free T4 (thyroid) was 1.51, normal range is 0.75-1.59

6. TSH (thyroid) was 1.31, normal range is 0.4-4.0

YAY! As I said before, my ultrasound also came back perfectly normal with no signs of PCOS, so having a good ultrasound and good bloodwork is really exciting news. To confirm PCOS, the LH-to-FSH ratio should be 2-to-1 or higher, and my ratio was really close to a perfect 1-to-1 ratio. I’m really happy that everything came back normal and it seems like my PCOS is under control due to my weight loss, which is really motivating me to keep up the good work.

So, what next? Once we have the money together, I’ll be making an appointment with Dr. Chamoun over at Viera Fertility Clinic and doing whatever tests he needs done, buying sperm and then baby-making! Eeek! It’s so close…OMG! I can’t believe we are really, truly, finally getting this show on the road. Now we just need to find a money tree! 🙂

***Update 9/29/14 – received more lab results***

7. Free Testosterone was 4, normal range is 0.1-6.4

8. Total Testosterone was 49, normal range is 2-45

She did remark that my total testosterone was elevated above the “normal high” by 4 points, however she said there really wasn’t anything to worry about nor anything that could be done to lower it based on my other lab results being so good.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    Sep 25, 2014 @ 21:51:18

    That is all great news! Go girl!!! Sounds like there may be a baby on the way soon! Excited for you!

    Reply

  2. Mel
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 09:40:46

    Congrats on the excellent news! Fellow lesbian mom here. We have a beautiful almost-6-month old. Do you know if anything can be done with leftover sperm? We have two vials we don’t need, and I wish we could donate it.

    Reply

Talk To Me!

