Good Luck

Yesterday J, Jaxson, and I went to Ripley’s in Orlando to re-visit the fertility statues that are there. Last time we visited was the month before J’s second IUI, the IUI that gave us Jaxson.

IMG_5998.JPG

It was a very spiritual experience, and as I was touching the statues I was overcome with emotion. I had chill bumps and started crying, but I was feeling so peaceful and content. Despite the traffic woes, the rainy nasty day, and all the delays and stress getting out of the house that morning, it was worth all of it to have those ten minutes and the resulting peace.

IMG_5995.JPG

Many people we have told about the statues have said it’s ridiculous or superstitious, that there’s no way they could possible have anything to do with conception success. There have been tons of pregnancies after women have visited these statues, and we are one of those success stories. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, of course, but for J and I, we believe that they do give good luck. We aren’t praying to them as you would to God nor are they replacing God for us. We see them as good luck charms for our baby-making journey, just like some people wish on a falling star or keep a rabbit’s foot or have a lucky shirt.

I shared the photos of us visiting the statues on Facebook last night and got tons of positive responses and “likes”. Everyone is excited for our continued journey, but unfortunately I got one negative comment from a very religious (Christian) family member of mine. I deleted their comment because I don’t want that kind of negativity and disregard for my very positive and spiritual experience. Please don’t discount my faith or beliefs because they aren’t the same as yours, that’s why they are MY beliefs. They are important to me. Respect them as I respect yours. They could have just rolled their eyes where I didn’t have to see and not comment at all. Their choice to comment was a dick move and only showed that they have no respect for me. I have no room for that sort of behavior in my life, especially now.

Anywho, I digress. We had a lovely experience and we feel good about the future. I am glad that we got to re-visit them with our son and top off our “good luck tank” for our next baby-making journey. šŸ™‚ I leave you with this picture, guaranteed to make you smile. I love his little face! I am so grateful for the good luck that brought him to us!

IMG_5998

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Overcome Infertility
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 12:53:04

    I hope it works for you!

    Reply

  2. secretandtiffany
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 13:53:13

    I love that you guys have a “good luck charm” that’s a special thing to share with us and hopefully people will continue to fill your spirits with love and positive energy! (Instead of instilling negativity) When we have faith (of any variety) it helps to calm our minds and hearts. Nothing about faith and superstition should every be counted out when it helps to put our journey at ease. We are so happy to be following your story and hope to hear more great experiences from you both!! Good luck to you!!!!

    Reply

  3. Denise Dorris
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 14:06:24

    I’m glad you had a great day! Native Americans believe the turtle is a fertility symbol…

    Reply

  4. DeCaf
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 16:25:32

    Sounds fun! I hope it works for you guys!

    Reply

  5. Becca
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 07:39:34

    haha cute little dude! nothing wrong with good luck charms.

    Reply

    • B
      Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:50:31

      He was so funny, he kept going “oh, oh, oh” all concerned because I had to hold him up and there was nothing for him to hold on to! It made for some silly pictures though!

      Reply

  6. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 12:00:33

    I wish they had those statues here! Best of luck on this leg of your parenthood journey! If it worked before, why not now!

    Reply

Talk To Me!

