The Two Week Wait Begins

I had my first IUI yesterday morning, and aside from some mild cramping and the migraine I had all afternoon/evening, everything went perfectly. I have no doubt our timing was on target, and had a temp rise this morning confirming ovulation occurred yesterday. As if my super sore boobs and flushed face, along with the migraine and resulting nausea, weren’t indicators enough.

The IUI itself was painless, which I was happy about. J had advised me to ask for them to use the soft catheter instead of the “cattle prod” as she calls it, and I’m glad I did since it was over without me realizing it’d even begun. Our sperm motility was great and the count was 37.4 million, which the doc was really pleased with! When J got pregnant the count was around 30 million, so a few million more sounds promising to me!

Afterwards, we went to get breakfast and did some light shopping. Around 1, I started getting a migraine and we came home and Jax and I napped for a few hours. I was so utterly exhausted that I laid down again around 7 and then we went to bed by 9:45. I was up throughout the night because of my headache and literally laid awake for 3 hours in the early morning because I couldn’t sleep through the pain. Of course, I can’t take anything but Tylenol during the TWW, which doesn’t even touch my headaches. At least this morning it seems to be a little better, although I do feel like I’ve been hit upside the head with a baseball bat! I’m sure this was just a result of the sudden hormone fluctuations due to ovulating (something I’m not used to!) and my body will soon adjust. At least, I sure hope so!

Regardless, I’m excited! We both are, and J keeps talking like I’m already pregnant. Only time will tell, but I’m cautiously hopeful. I know we did everything right and I have the utmost faith in my doctor that everything on his end was perfect, too. I am really at ease and peaceful, and am just trusting God that a pregnancy will happen at the time its supposed to. After all, that’s all I can do at this point, right?

I’m feeling good now, but I’m sure later on its going to feel like these two weeks are lasting an eternity! 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. secretandtiffany
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:39:32

    Welcome to the TWW! I hope it goes by quickly for you!!!

    Reply

  2. Molly
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 13:15:40

    Fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  3. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 13:21:53

    Best of luck!!! I hope this is it! Hope it’s a quick TWW!

    Reply

  4. Lindsay
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 13:22:26

    Ohhhhh I hope this TWW goes by quickly and ends in a big, fat, shiny positive for you!

    Reply

  5. DeCaf
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 13:33:55

    I hope your wait passes quickly and end happily.

    Reply

  6. AndiePants
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 14:28:19

    you can actually safely take ibuprofen in the TWW since there is no placenta to cross yet, but I also understand if the risk/against advice of docs makes you not want to go that route. In any case, GOOD LUCK!

    Reply

  7. thebarrenlibrarian
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 14:42:26

    When we got pregnant our count was in the 30’s too. Hopefully you’ll just need one and be done!

    Reply

  8. lezbemoms
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 16:58:36

    Yay! Hope the TWW goes quickly for you and you get a new year’s miracle. 🙂

    Reply

  9. jamameri
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 05:19:17

    I’m claiming this one for yhu….one word…pineapplessssss

    Reply

Talk To Me!

