A Long Time Coming

Happy New Years everyone! This year is already off to an auspicious start for us. Florida is finally recognizing gay marriages performed elsewhere and issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples. We’ve come full circle and I’m so excited! J and I have been together seven years, and married for almost three, and today we finally have marriage equality in our home state. Now we can amend Jaxson’s birth certificate to show me as a parent. Our next child will have both of us on their birth certificate from the beginning. We can now have joint health insurance. We can now have peace of mind that if something happened to either of us, our children will stay with the surviving spouse. We now have the basic rights many straight couples take for granted.

I have the marriage of my dreams, the house, the kids, the whole 9 yards. Today I am thankful for it all more than ever, and hoping that marriage inequality is soon a thing of the past for all those still waiting.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebarrenlibrarian
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 15:54:18

    Congratulations! I hate that this is something we even have to celebrate-it should have always been this way 🙂

    Reply

  2. babiesforladies
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 16:57:28

    Congrats!!

    Reply

  3. Denise
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 17:53:39

    So happy for your family!

    Reply

  4. DeCaf
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 19:53:49

    Congrats!

    Reply

  5. Becca
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 07:30:28

    We were so surprised and happy to see that FL is now a marriage equality state. The tides have definitely turned when Florida and Mississippi both recognize same sex marriage. Congratulations! It will be so much easier to file jointly for both state and federal taxes than jointly for federal and single for state (I think we had one year in MD like that before it was legal)

    Reply

  6. K.M.H
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 09:40:33

    When DOMA got partially thrown out last summer, and everyone was celebrating, I was like, “Still a second class citizen!” And I took a lot of flack for it, but I didn’t want people to forget that other states were still fighting and needed the support.

    I knew… I KNEW… South Carolina would be the absolute LAST state and that we’d only be allowed to marry when the Supreme Court told SC to sit down and shut up, but when things started really taking off and SC started looking like it might not be that far behind… I thought, “I wonder what it would be like to be in an equality state…” and when someone asked me, I told them that I wasn’t sure I’d feel any different…

    But the morning I woke up and looked at my fiance and realized that I was going to legally be allowed to marry her at our wedding… It really does feel different. And it feels amazing. And I’m so excited that you get to experience that now too!!! Congrats!

    Reply

Talk To Me!

