Egg Moon

Easter is this upcoming Sunday. Growing up, I lived in a conservative Christian household, and wasn’t allowed to participate in the usual Easter activities. We couldn’t even call it Easter, instead we said it was “Resurrection Sunday”. The Easter Bunny did not visit my house with a basket of goodies and dying eggs was a rare treat that I got to do maybe twice in my childhood. I only remember going to one Easter egg hunt ever. I always got a chocolate Easter bunny every year because they went on sale the next day, but it was never for Easter. It was just chocolate shaped like a bunny.

J and I made Jax an Easter basket this year and had a blast putting it together and picking out treats for him. We had fun stuffing the Easter eggs for the egg hunt he and his cousins will be doing this weekend. We explained Easter to him in the simplest terms we could and we told him the Easter Bunny was bringing him treats in a basket and that Easter is a celebration of Spring. We may have mentioned that the Easter Bunny is kind of like Santa, but a bunny. Regardless of whether he really understands what Easter’s about, we are just excited to be doing something fun to bring in the Spring together as a family.

Additionally, Saturday (April 4) is the full moon of April. The Native Americans named the full moons of each month, and one of the names for the April full moon is the “Egg Moon”. Aside from the obvious reasons for April being a generally fertile month, such as the blossoming of Spring and the subsequent new birth of animals and flowers in nature, the Egg Moon is also seen as a symbol of fertility and creation and growth.

I take this as a good omen as we’re getting ready to TTC again this month. I’m already feeling positive and optimistic for this upcoming cycle. Starting the month off with the Egg Moon feels like it is going to bring us a little extra good luck. I’ll take all that I can get!

Happy Easter! I hope everyone TTC this month has good luck and is blessed with fertility!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DeCaf
    Apr 03, 2015 @ 12:43:19

    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Ant
    Apr 04, 2015 @ 20:17:17

    Hi! Fairly new to reading your blog…wanted to say hi and that I absolutely LOVE the idea of ‘egg moon’. First I’ve heard of it, but now I’m going to go read more. I still don’t get to ttc this month, but hopefully I’ll have success with my HSG and next month I can start trying. Creation, growth, come on egg moon!

    Reply

    • B
      Apr 04, 2015 @ 22:49:52

      Hi! Thanks for reading. I went outside tonight and just basked in the light for a minute. It was a really beautiful moon 🙂 I’m choosing to find the optimism and positivity that’s out there in the universe and bring some my way! Best of luck to you in your journey!

      Reply

Talk To Me!

