IUI Cycle 3 Begins

I had my cycle day 3 appointment this morning. Everything looks good for this cycle. We talked for a while about my options for this cycle and our plan. 

He asked if we checked my progesterone last cycle (nope) and said he’d check it again this cycle. I was feeling conflicted about asking about this since my number was good the first cycle, and thinking I might just be a hypochondriac, but he brought it up and validated my concern. I’m glad they’re covering all the bases this time, and hopefully progesterone is not a problem, or easily corrected if it is. 

He’s putting me back on Clomid at the 150 mg/day. I told him I was worried about my past responses, and he said that I got a follicle, so it means I responded, I just didn’t overrespond. For having 30-35 day cycles, ovulating day 16 or later is normal. He did say if I was having a slow response he’d like to do booster shots of FSH to accelerate the follicle growth (yikes cause I know how much injectables cost!)

I asked about switching to letrozole instead since I was worried about the injectables. He said he would recommend trying it if there’s a next time because if we try it this time and I don’t respond to it at all then, I would need to go to an injectable protocol from here on out. 

He did also say it was up to me ultimately and that we could do letrozole this time if I wanted to, but I didn’t want to take the risk of having to jump straight to injectables because of a lack of response on a new medication, so one last round of Clomid it is. Now if I could just respond to it perfectly (and quickly) then that would be awesome. 🙂 I’m nervous but cautiously excited. Hoping and praying I respond well and won’t need the injectables! But if I do need them, we’ll figure out how to pay for it – we always do. 🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. g2the4thpower
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 23:29:07

    Good luck with your cycle! You could ask about tamoxifen too. My RE prefers it to clomid for several reasons. Of the top of my head it seems to have higher live birth rates and it doesn’t have the side effect of thinning the lining.

    Reply

  2. loveh3
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:41:00

    Praying for you and this cycle. Hoping all goes well and you respond just like you wanted to : ) And yes some injections can be pricy but you can always “shop” around to different places, thats what i did to make sure I was saving somewhere Lol : )

    Reply

    • B
      Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:48:15

      Thank you! I’ll definitely be shopping around for a good price if it comes to it!

      Reply

      • loveh3
        Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:56:57

        And sometimes if you have insurance they will cover the medication depending on what it is so don’t count them out : )

  3. DeCaf
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:52:49

    Good luck! I hope this is lucky number three for you.

    Reply

  4. babiesforladies
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 12:38:28

    Good luck!

    Reply

  5. theroadtobabynelson
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:48:59

    Good luck ma’am! Will be keeping y’all in my thoughts and prayers!

    Reply

Talk To Me!

