Next Up…Follistim!

I had my follow-up ultrasound this morning to see how the Letrozole treated me. My lone follicle on the right ovary fizzled out along the way and disappeared, but I gained TWO beauties on the left ovary instead. Yay! They are still on the small side (I think about 11-12 mm) so no trigger shot or IUI just yet.

The doctor gave me two options: let me “coast” until Monday and see if the two follicles grow on their own by then, or start Follistim to give them a boost. Since this is the point where my ovaries tend to “give up”, I didn’t want to take the chance of one or both follicles disappearing over the weekend. So $300 later, I have my Follistim pen in hand and I’m starting 75 IU of Follistim tonight through Sunday with labs (estradiol) and a follow-up ultrasound on Monday morning. I’m trying not to get too optimistic or overly hopeful, but we’d be really excited to be ready to go on Monday!

Although I was hoping I wouldn’t have to do injectables, I really think this protocol gives me a great chance, especially if I can hang on to both follicles (please please please please). The Letrozole worked far better than Clomid ever did for me at recruiting follicles and I didn’t have crazy side effects from it! I’m so glad there’s a chance at two follicles this time, too! The doctor also said depending on how I take to the Follistim, I could even have more. I know he won’t do an IUI with more than 4 follicles, so really two is great for me.

So, that’s where we are at. Both J and I feel good. We’re happy the Letrozole worked and excited about the Follistim (just not the cost). If all goes well, we could be having IUI #3 next week. Finally!

After talking about all of this today, J and I ended up talking about how we have been seeing a lot of white butterflies around. Like, I know it’s spring, but there’s been tons. Curious, I Googled the meaning:

I’d say getting pregnant is a pretty darn important moment on the path of life. So, lead the way, butterflies. Lead the way. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DeCaf
    May 07, 2015 @ 18:26:15

    My doctor also won’t do inseminations if there are more than four follicles too.

    Reply

  2. My Perfect Breakdown
    May 07, 2015 @ 18:45:34

    I love the note about the meaning of the butterfly! 🙂

    Reply

  3. g2the4thpower
    May 07, 2015 @ 19:33:19

    I’m sending you all my grow grow grow vibes!

    Reply

  4. nikster1979
    May 07, 2015 @ 22:17:08

    So glad your body responded well! Here’s hoping for an IUI early next week!

    Reply

  5. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    May 08, 2015 @ 08:35:00

    How lovely is the meaning behind the butterflies…I hope that the follistim works out well for you…i know that when my ex and I were TTC, the Clomid, and letrozole did not work for her, but the Follistim was like, WOAH!! Sending growing vibes to you and hoping that this insem is it!

    Reply

Talk To Me!

