Onward!

I woke up late, ran into traffic on my way to the lab for my estradiol bloodwork, and then the lab had an issue with my lab requisition form requiring me to call the doctor’s office and have them fax a new one over while I was literally in the blood draw chair with a tourniquet on.

Luckily, I got in and out pretty quickly at the lab once all of that was dealt with and I went to my follow-up ultrasound afterward to see what Follistim did for me. I’ve been having cramps and aches all weekend while doing the shots, so I was so nervous nothing was happening in there (since every other time I’ve felt things happening, nothing’s actually happened). I prayed and prayed that even just ONE follicle would stick and grow and everything would be ready at my appointment today. I was literally shaking with nerves while I was waiting in the ultrasound room for the doctor and nurse to come in. I just didn’t want to have to be told “not yet” again. All I wanted for Mother’s Day was to be able to proceed with this cycle sooner rather than later.

After digging around for a few minutes trying to find my left ovary (holy crap OW), thankfully, the stars had aligned and my body had responded by giving me one beautiful follicle on the left ovary (the second one seen on the previous ultrasound went away), perfect triple-stripe lining, and the best news of all: IUI on Thursday morning! I wanted so badly for the Follistim to have worked and thank God it did. I have to do one final Follistim shot of 75 125 IU tonight (we figured “what the hell!” and ended up using up the last 50 IU left in the vial in addition the 75 IU he wanted me to do), Ovidrel trigger shot tomorrow (Tuesday) night at 9 p.m., and then the IUI on Thursday morning at 9 a.m.! I’ll also be doing 200 mg Prometrium supplements starting at 2DPO (protocol since I was on injectables), but I was happy about that since I was going to ask for it anyway. The plus side to taking the progesterone is that anything I “feel” after the IUI is most likely from the medication, so I think it will keep me calmer and (hopefully) avoid the dreaded symptom spotting during the TWW. And finally, I have my beta blood pregnancy test scheduled for 5/28.

WE ARE SO EXCITED! Finally, we are moving forward. J was so happy when I told her the news this morning after my appointment. We laughed about the timing since we conceived Jaxson on May 19. Oh boy. What if our kids end up with the same birthday?!

Now that we know the IUI is on the books, I feel like we can take a breath and relax for just a minute. I’m so glad that we have only told our close family about this cycle so that we don’t have the added stress of everyone else knowing and bugging us for details or outcomes (it’s hard enough when our parents keep asking us to explain everything over and over again!). We have enough stress as it is since this is kind of a Hail Mary IUI.

Since we added the Follistim we had to dip into our savings for the next cycle to pay for the Follistim, so we may not have enough to continue trying right now if this cycle is a bust (especially since we definitely don’t have enough saved for the added cost of Follistim!). I’m hoping and praying and begging the universe to please just let this be our cycle, please let me be Lucky #3. I feel selfish, because I know there are so many out there who’ve been trying for years to get pregnant, but unfortunately being a lesbian minus being a millionaire plus only having limited amounts of sperm available = PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LET THIS BE OUR TIME! The thought of having to put baby-making on hold yet again because of financial constraints freaks me out. Its such a stupid thing to hold you back from your dreams.

But I digress. I’m not going to worry about that. None of it will matter. Because deep down, I’m having faith and believing that this will be it. And I appreciate all of you keeping the faith with me. 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. goodfamiliesdo
    May 11, 2015 @ 12:18:51

    Yay! How long after the trigger shot does ovulation happen? How long after that do you do the iui?

    Reply

  2. pepibebe
    May 11, 2015 @ 16:40:39

    Exciting! Ours was lucky number 13!

    Reply

  3. Molly
    May 11, 2015 @ 18:57:42

    Yay! So happy things are growing and looking good!

    Reply

  4. AmyApplesnail
    May 12, 2015 @ 17:13:51

    So exciting! Good luck on Thurs!

    Reply

Talk To Me!