It’s A Beautiful Day To Make Babies

Any fan of Grey’s Anatomy knows that McDreamy always says “It’s a beautiful day to save lives.” before he starts a surgery. Today, as J and I were waiting to have our IUI, I took her hand and told her, “It’s a beautiful day to make babies”. She agreed.

When the doctor came in, he had some crazy news: we had two vials of sperm and when they thawed the first one, there was a big clump of mucus (gross!) in it so it was unusable (damn it!) They told us to contact the cryobank and they’d send over the paperwork so we can get a refund/replacement. Thankfully, our second vial was just fine and had a count of 21.6 million. I’m just so happy that they didn’t thaw the good vial first so we weren’t left with a dud vial in storage! And this way, when I find out I’m pregnant (see what I did there), we can pocket a refund for the dud vial and that’s $500 we could really use right now!

We really hope it works this time, and we’re hoping for a girl! Not that we wouldn’t be happy with whatever gender it would be, but we really want our girl and Jax wants a baby sister (and I’ve seen her before so I’m convinced that’s who’s on the way). As we were waiting in the office for the doctor to come in to do the IUI, everything around us was girly. Usually they have blue gloves in the office, this time they had hot pink. I had a pink drape on. Someone’s kid had stuck a sticker on the side of the exam table that was a picture of a fairy in a pink dress. It felt like the office was giving us the Team Pink vibes today!

We had some breakfast at Einstein’s and then picked Jaxson up from Grandpa’s house. I had the IUI at 9:12 and started feeling some left-sided aches and pains around 11:30, so I feel like our timing was really great this time. I’m just relaxing with J, watching Jax run around the backyard, and enjoying this beautiful day.

IMG_6766

IMG_6764

IMG_6768-0

IMG_6769-0

We are both so optimistic for this cycle, and the logical part of us thinks that we’re crazy for putting so much hope behind today’s IUI. But we’re ready. We feel good about this cycle and we can’t help but be positive. I’ve just been at peace about this whole process this time around.  I’ve been seeing the white butterflies in abundance. I looked back at the blog and pictures about the fertility statues we’ve visited, hoping to refresh our good luck. I’m not religious (anymore) and I haven’t read the Bible since (Christian) high school, but I kept having Jeremiah 29:11 pop into my head, and I love the “Complete Jewish Bible” translation – For I know what plans I have in mind for you,’ says Adonai, ‘plans for well-being, not for bad things; so that you can have hope and a future. This has sort of been my mantra the last few doctor’s visits and repeating it keeps me calm and reminds me that God’s got our backs and the miracle of making a baby will happen at the right time. This was the right time for us to make Jaxson. I just hope this is the right time again. 🙂

I start progesterone on Saturday and I go for my beta pregnancy test on 5/28. I want to try not to test again after I test out the trigger, but we all know that will probably not happen. lol

We’re excited. Let the two-week wait begin!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebarrenlibrarian
    May 14, 2015 @ 13:23:39

    Hey there is NO REASON not to be positive! I love your mind set!

    Reply

  2. grandma
    May 14, 2015 @ 14:09:45

    white symbolizes triumph, victory in conflict, purity, it also bespeaks holiness and success. Rev. 7:9 and 19:14.
    Butterfly: usually rebirth

    Reply

  3. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    May 14, 2015 @ 14:43:13

    Positive breeds positive friend…hope this is truly it!

    Reply

  4. katieapippin
    May 14, 2015 @ 15:52:54

    Praying for a big fat positive for y’all! That is one of my favorite Bible quotes also. Sending good vibes your way during the dreaded 2 week wait 🙂

    Reply

  5. Molly
    May 14, 2015 @ 16:03:25

    It seems like the stars are aligning for this cycle! Fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  6. sarahofhearts
    May 14, 2015 @ 16:51:12

    I also really believe that things happen at the right time – I hope this is your right time 🙂 it certainly does sound like the stars are aligned!

    Reply

  7. Denise
    May 14, 2015 @ 18:29:26

    So excited for you both,keeping you in my prayers😘

    Reply

  8. Lezbemoms
    May 14, 2015 @ 19:06:05

    I love the positivity… But you just brought up my mcdreamy grief all over again lol.

    Reply

  9. pepibebe
    May 14, 2015 @ 20:32:46

    Luck luck luck!

    Reply

  10. nikster1979
    May 14, 2015 @ 23:12:06

    Good luck! Hope this is the one. Being positive and calm can only bring good things.

    Reply

  11. Becca
    May 15, 2015 @ 06:54:06

    The hope and optimism is what fuels us. Good luck! That’s a great count.

    Reply

Talk To Me!

