Fucking Ridiculous

I found out on June 17th that I’m losing my job on June 30th. Count ’em – that’s only 9 working days notice! I’ll be honest, I’m not shocked, but I am surprised they gave us such short notice. They sent us some bullshit letter about how they sort of knew but didn’t want to tell anyone. What?! At least we could have been planning this whole time instead of being blindsided. I’ve been doing contract-based work for about a year and half, since our company bought our building from a large financial institution that was looking to cut some costs. I’ve been on 3 different projects since they took over, had benefits whose costs keep escalating, and lived in constant fear that “this would be the month” that they let us all go. Over the past few months, I’ve watched numerous co-workers and friends flee the company to more stable jobs or be let go (they like to call it “furloughed” and then they never bring you back), always clinging on to some stupid hope that it wouldn’t happen to me. My pay is phenomenal – thanks to the large financial institution hiring me in at that pay (we haven’t gotten raises in close to 3 years) which our current company kept paying us. So we’re a little stressed out that I’m losing my pay. But I’m not stressed about losing this place. Honestly, I’m rather relieved.

It’s awful to have to come to work at a place you absolutely loathe, that offers you no incentive or enrichment. Sure the pay was great, but the mental stress of having to deal with fearing for your job on the daily has taken its toll. I’m tired. I’ve already started putting in job applications and started cutting back on some of our monthly costs to hopefully keep us floating above water until my unemployment pay kicks in. I hope I can move into another job quickly so it won’t get too bad. We’ll figure it out though, we always do. At least my company decided to open up overtime for us to finish out our work before the 30th, so I’m banking in on some 13-14 hour days next week to get as much as I can, plus working 8-5 today.

This all wouldn’t be as bad if J wasn’t also losing her job toward the end of the year. We actually found out at the beginning of June that this was happening, but at least she had four months’ notice. We were planning around me still having my job, so of course those plans had to be thrown out of the window and completely rewritten. Even through all of this stress, we both agree that it feels like we’re being “guided” in some direction, toward some other path. I know that things will work out in the end, they always do, but its still just frustrating and stressful to have to deal with it at all.

On the bright side is Jaxson. He’s so amazing, when he’s not hitting or kicking us or being a “naughty boy” on purpose. He’ll even tell you: “I’m not nice boy, I’m naughty boy” like in Walmart last night when he would. not. cooperate. Mostly though, he really is a nice, good boy. He has such a kind heart and such love for his mommies. He gives the best snuggles and kisses and ugga-muggas (rubbing noses). He loves his stuffed animals, and bring them everywhere. Swimming is one of his favorite activities, and he can now swim around both grandparents’ pools on his own (with floaties of course). He can have full conversations with you now, and you can understand so much of what he says. He knows all of his colors, shapes, and ABCs, and about half his numbers 1-10. The thing that comes along with this boost in vocabulary, however, is that he is now repeating literally everything we say. In fact, last night, Jaxson says: “That’s fucking ridiculous!” Well, yes it is buddy, but I think it’s time we implement some censorship for J and I. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. My Perfect Breakdown
    Jun 20, 2015 @ 10:59:47

    I am so sorry that you are facing this. I cannot believe they only gave you 9 working days notice!! It sounds like you are pretty okay with this working out in the end, and I think that’s a wonderful perspective to have. I hope you find something new, that excites you quickly!

    Reply

  2. goodfamiliesdo
    Jun 20, 2015 @ 21:08:22

    So sorry this just got dropped on you. That totally sucks! I hope the next step is something you enjoy and suits you well.

    Reply

  3. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 16:51:10

    That really sucks! So shitty of them to only give you a few days notice! that’s not very professional at all. I hope you find something soon and that it doesn’t put you guys too much in the hole…i’ll be sending some good luck vibes your way and praying for the best for you

    Reply

  4. lovingthemarriedlife
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 19:21:47

    sorry about all the added stress! I hope everything turns around soon! the part where you talk about censorship at the end there had me cracking up 🙂 oh kiddos!

    Reply

  5. Twopicklesmama
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 19:03:34

    I have been wrapped up in our crap and trying to catch up – so srry this happened to you – I would have had a meltdown. You two are strong mamas. I am going up the page so will see what happened afterwards. (Months behind!!)

    Reply

Talk To Me!

